Svayambh-PA: or, New Residentialist Platform (NRP)


I met Buck in front of City Hall on Monday, July 16, 2012. I stopped him and asked him to take my picture in front of Mildred Howard’s installation “Clear Story”. He one-upped me by also taking my photo a second time with his smarter phone.

Earlier, I had asked a young lady walking her little Chinese (she said) semi-hairless 3-or-4-year-old little doggie to do likewise, and she complied. The thought occurred to me that I could make it a little project to stop strangers and get a series of portraits done with “Clear Story”. I stopped with these two (three) but I did sit for about an hour — waiting for a meeting to start in City Hall — after a meeting with City Clerk — and watch five or six people interact with the work. I spoke to one other woman about the work. Not everyone notices the banner that explains the work more fully.

Buck told me that he is an artist and print-maker, lives in town, and studied with Kent Manske at Foothill College.

His full name is Buckley Dueker, I learned when he sent the photo from his own (smarter) camera.

This mini-project is related to the comments I made to Council during my interview for  Planning and Transportation Commission in June wherein I described a concept I attributed to Stephen Carter about the basis for Democracy is greeting strangers on the street.

If I run, I am planning a minimalist campaign. I don’t plan to walk many precincts. On the other hand, I do habitually talk to total strangers on street corners, in elevators, waiting in line in supermarkets; I would hope to be out-going, if I run, but am contemplating making it a point to NOT mention to people that I am also running for public office. The Steinbeck book I’m reading had a vernacularism “break into song” meaning go off into a familiar speech or mode; I hope to NOT gratiutiously jump from saying “good morning” to polling people on their favorite local issue. (Although I caught myself doing that to Debbie Mytels Monday at council chambers). edit to add: it occurs to me, if I am considering “canvassing” at “Clear Story” as a campaign tactic, I would have to spend a lot of time there; consider that when Sid Espinosa ran for council it is reported that he had 70 volunteers who met 10,000 people in one day.

edit to add, Sept. 29: I am running. Thirty six days to go until election. Thank you TAD for upgrading the look here at Svayambh-PA (n0t to be confused with the temple in Kathmandu, but not unrelated either).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in bigger picture or what is democracy?, influences and inspirations, Public Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

