Daily Post mentions Weiss possible candidacy for Council

The Daily Post, in an article about Mayor Yiaway Yeh announcing that he will not seek to hold his seat, mentioned that Mark Weiss — that’s me — had at least pulled nomination papers as if to run for Palo Alto City Council. They identified me as “concert promoter”.

Meanwhile they also mentioned that Marc Berman had also pulled papers AND filed to report having raised more than $20,000 for his “war chest.” I recall meeting Marc at a candidates forum in 2009 when he was running for State Assembly and I was running for council the first time. He seemed like a likeable enough guy, a former goalie for Paly soccer team (champions, to boot), a lawyer, had worked on several political campaigns and maybe staff of office holders in other states, I think. He was also on the recent 16-member IBRIC, the infrastructure blue ribbon commission.

The Daily News had the same story on Yeh, also mentioned Berman, but did not mention yours truly. Many reports also include news that Pat Burt and Greg Schmid seek to hold their seats, Sid Espinosa will not, and termed out County Supe and former Palo Alto mayor Liz Kniss, 73, has announced (as of January) she will run for Council again, whether or not she has pulled papers or turns them in (I assume she will).

City Clerk Donna Grider said the deadline to return the 25 signatures necessary to qualify for ballot is August 10 but will probably be extended to Aug. 15 due to the incumbents opting out. She said, however, not to delay that extra five days on the chance that Sid or YY change their mind and do file.

This blog is merely a place for me to record my thoughts as I ponder whether or not to run for office, dig?

SVA like “School of Visual Arts”. Yam like the tuber. BH like my mothers initials, or “Big House”. and PA like Palo Alto although I will breath it sva-YAM-buh-puh.

Can you say sva-YAM-buh-puh? I knew you could. (Which reminds me that I also had a riff about basing my campaign on the Meters’ song “Hey Pocky A-way“).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media coverage, the candidates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

