Rebuttal to Weekly editorial and ‘the real dearth’

Point of fact, I was Student Body President at Terman Middle School in 1977. I was Nelson Rockefeller Center Fellow in public affairs and policy from Dartmouth College covering  council meetings in Mountain View and Santa Clara while Berman was still in short pants, in 1984. By 1996, I was on the cover of your Palo Alto Weekly for community leadership; maybe Marc Berman attended some of the teen programming I organized at Cubberley in those years, 1994 through 2001.  And it’s a moot point to compare my modest results in the 2009 election that Mr. Berman didn’t participate in. Ironically, I jumped in in 2009 responding to an op-ed like this one.

It’s not that Palo Alto needs “more candidates” for the upcoming election — I beg to differ. There is, however, a lack of residentialist and uncompromised voices in local debate and self-governance. Special interests here, especially commercial real estate moguls and deal-makers, hold too much sway and have too much say, and fill a Democracy gap, the difference between what we were taught in school, what our Founders foresaw, and what we actually have settled for.

Whether I run or not, whether I “win” or not, I stand with a significant number of people who have serious concerns that we are being poorly served, but not in the ways you describe. Your coverage barely fathoms the real dearth. We need a new residentialist platform.

posted in response to this and on the Weekly site.

p.s. I don’t think it terribly relevant that I was in Student Government years ago as a PAUSD student except in the narrow context of rebutting the Weekly editorial which seemed to be lumping Marc Berman with Liz Kniss and practically endorsing them; I was seeking to contrast our age differences by alluding back to 1978. “Short pants” is a British colloquialism alluding to children’s clothing, but I thought it was in popular use enough here to use it; I originally had a reference to “potty training” which was advised against.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media coverage, the candidates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

