Labor Day or a couple of hours

John Steinbeck lived here, and wrote about labor

The labor council sent me a questionaire and is briefing candidates. I hope to write them a response telling them where I stand.

I am not courting their endorsement but I’d like to learn more about what they do.

I just read “In Dubious Battle” by John Steinbeck which seems somehow relevant, even though it is about the 1930s. I also flashed in my head to relevant government/history coursework I did, back in the day.

I was among about 50 residents on record as against Measure D, which I called “D for ‘demeaning'”.

To write what I want to write about labor, I will need to clear a couple of hours, but first I need some more signatures.

edit to add: between reading Steinbeck and attending the Labor Council candidates briefing I am thinking about if not actually writing about labor; and I posted on Patch about my fellow aspirant to office:

Last night Marc Berman and I were the only Palo Altans at the Labor Council information night for local elections 2012, along with leaders and aspiring leaders from Gilroy, Mountain View, Santa Clara, San Jose. As a former Paly soccer goalie, he can surely “protect our goal” in terms of getting the most out of civil servants dollar for dollar, “make the save” against spiraling pension worries, and then “distribute” his wisdom to rally the team toward a counter-attack. He’s a kick.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in bigger picture or what is democracy?, influences and inspirations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

