Watching the detectives

Mr. Green:
Thanks for updating your article to include me; at first, in the print edition, I thought you were either confusing me with Marc Berman, or conflating us, in that I was told by Donna Grider that I was the first to pull papers, on Monday, July 16.
Cheers.
Mark Weiss
ps. what ever happened to Will Oremus?
650.305.0701
It was an honest mistake. I spoke with the Registrar of Voters last week and I was told their information is updated daily. Donna did not mention you were the first to pull papers. I’ll have to circle back with her. Until then, the story has been updated to include all the latest information. A correction will also appear in tomorrow’s print edition.
Will Oremus is now happily working for Slate.
I look forward to talking with you as the campaign progresses. Feel free to send me information about your council bid.
–Jason
Hi, Jason.
You’ll get a lot of exclusive material; here’s a fact, when I was a trainee at Peninsula Times Tribune, in 1984, covering (when real reporters went on vacation) Mountain View city council (where the cops almost went out on strike) and Santa Clara (voted to buy Great America to prevent a developer from shuttering it and putting in office space), there was another reporter at PTT covering San Jo by name of….Mario Dianda (who I never saw, since he was out of the San Jo bureau and not Lytton/Ramona here, but I read him and learned from him).
 I also thought I made points with him in 2009 by asking him about Bishop O’Dowd, his high school…but then squandered that by whining about them not letting me turn in my survey late…
This should be fun. I am an activist, blogger, former journalist, concert promoter, artist manager, Gunn and Dartmouth grad…
mbw
I am not a midnight stencil graffiti artist I swear….(maybe THAT’S my campaign slogan: Mark Weiss I am not a midnight stencil artist I swear)
let’s see if talking about me can get you above 100 twitter followers….:)
edit to add: not that Elvis Costello is endorsing my campaign, but I have seen him live two or three times over the years. Saw a cool article in the Times recently about Republican candidates being asked my rockers to desist from using their material out of context.
When I allude to giving the Daily News exclusive material I mean that I favor them over the Post. I try to understand individual reporters and tailor pitches. My wildest pipe dream and hope, beyond actually getting elected, is to grow my blog so that it does indeed become a source for residentialists to develop our new platform, November and Everything After.
And by the time I had officially announced tonight that I am running, to Daily News and The Weekly (on their site I posted that I might run), I had already written here 15 posts and a total of about 6,000 words.
edit to add, ten minutes later:
From: mark weiss <earwopa@yahoo.com>
To: gennady sheyner <gsheyner@paweekly.com>
Cc: jay thorwaldsen <jaythor@XXXX.com>
Sent: Tuesday, August 7, 2012 8:03 PM
Subject: i am running
Gen:
elected, is to grow my blog so that it does indeed become a source for residentialists to develop our new platform, November and Everything After.
And by the time I had officially announced tonight that I am running, to Daily News and The Weekly (on their site I posted that I might run), I had already written here 15 posts and a total of about 6,000 words.
Mark Weiss
see also
edit to add, next day: Adam Swart of Patch (AOL) apparently will be the first to interview me, today, about the campaign. I wrote for Patch, as a volunteer, and got to know Adam’s predecessor, Aaron Selverston, who left Patch recently to work on a Supervisor campaign in SF. Good luck to Aaron and Adam1
edit to add, later that night: Adam Swart interviewed me in person in front of AOL headquarters, for about 30 minutes — he is reaching all seven candidates to ask about Stanford, crime, HSR, Cali Ave. I interviewed him for about 8 of our 40 minutes. He is a Gunn grad, in his third year at UCLA, is on payroll for a month for Patch — I was quite impressed.  I should have shot him with my camera phone – next time. I also commented on two of his Patch posts on other topics. Meanwhile, Gen from PAW acknowledged my announcement and wished me luck:
Thanks for the heads up, Mark. Best of luck.Gennadyedit to add, 12 hours later:

Gennady Sheyner posted a story on Palo Alto Weekly, maybe to appear in Friday’s edition, about Lytton Plaza new proposed ordinance banning amplified sound. He quoted from my 3 minute address to Parks Commission last month, and idenfied me as a candidate for Council. I will have to revise my arguments on this topic elsewhere here at “Svayambh-Pa; or, New Residentialist Platform” but have this link to what I thought was a related case, about Rock Against Racism (Ward…), most specifically Marshall, Brennan and Stevens in dissent. My point is that we should enforce existing laws not let special interests and a powerful few push through bad policy.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media coverage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

