I know I’m not alone

I’m publishing here an alternate version of my 3-minute introductory remarks at the League of Women Voters-sponsored candidates forum held Sept. 15 at UUCPA. My girlfriend kindly re-wrote or co-wrote this version; you can see and hear what I actually say at this link.

One difference between the two drafts is that I actually say “I know I’m not alone” which is a reference to Michael Franti. Franti wrote a song with that title and made a documentary about Iraq with the same title.

I also make, in the version of the speech I gave but got deleted from our computer,  a pun about sausages, and “wurst-case” scenarios.

I will outro with Mr. Franti, for the musically curious. Here is Terry’s version of my little speech. I was nervous about the forum and almost used the fact that Saturday is a Jewish sabbath to not appear. My speech is about comparing that anxiety with my overall anxiety about running a campaign more about dissatisfaction with current leadership than my own merits. I admit I sometimes waver in my resolve to try to make a difference here; after all I’m only human.

Hi I am Mark Weiss

I am reminded of the joke about the Zen Buddhist and the hot dog vendor who says “make me one with everything!” PAUSE

I admit to a degree of trepidation about appearing here today, on Shabbat, the Jewish Sabbath PAUSE campaigning, and at a church, a Unitarian Universalist church

I’ve been to events here before….and if you’ll permit the segue
I started thinking about the old adage that politics and law-making are like making sausage –
maybe you don’t want to know what goes in your sausage PAUSE
and that is my campaign… PAUSE
It is about questioning the inside….
Questioning the Politics and
Challenging the status quo, and
Trying to find transparency about how decisions are made here in Palo Alto

I am a Gunn graduate, the editor of the student newspaper,
I went to Dartmouth and was one of the editors of my college daily
I went through and trained at the Palo Alto Times Tribune in 1984 when the building stood on Lytton Street , and I covered South Bay city council meetings and the politics of the time.
More recently, I’ve been following our local Palo Alto politics, avidly these last four years, and I am concerned with how decisions are made, and I believe I am not alone here.

I am the advocate of what I call a New Residentialist Platform… PAUSE
Distinct from what I perceive as a Downtown or Developer based platform.

I plan to get the chance ….over these next 50 days to earn your vote….
and get the pendulum swinging back in the direction of the people who live and work here.

Thank you to the Unitarian Universalist  Church of Palo Alto for allowing us to speak today!

I also answered a question about homelessness and the debate about people who sleep in their cars with a Bible quote. I said “That which you have done for the least of my brethren so have you done for me” which is Matthew 25-26 although I didn’t get the cite exactly right. A woman named Ivonne approached me after the forum and said my use of that quote was enough to earn her vote.

The LOWV is sponsoring another candidates forum Thursday, October 11 from 8 p.m. to 9:30 at Council Chambers, 250 Hamilton, as well as eight other events for the concerned and engaged likely voter.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in bigger picture or what is democracy?, development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

