Julian Davis, Gunn graduate, making waves in SF’s liberal D5 race

Before or after the Giants World Series Victory Parade (!!!), I hope to swing by 609 Haight Street at Steiner, the campaign headquarters of Julian Davis, a 33-year old Gunn and Brown grad running for Supervisor, in District 5 in San Francisco.

I had told his campaign manager Aaron Selverston, and two other Julian Davis campaign staffers, that I would find four hours to do some kind of mundane, nuts-and-bolts campaign work, like handing out brochures.

Its counter-intuitive (and so far, prohibitive) to be both running for office in Palo Alto and volunteering for another campaign in another city. Yet I find I learn from these situations.

I worked briefly for Jeff Adachi, the SF public defender when he ran for Mayor recently, who I heard about from Matt Gonzalez, the former Supervisor, who I know from the visual arts community. I also suggested once that Jeff could give a lecture perhaps at Foothill College on local politics and pension reform.

I worked briefly for the following other candidates, over the years: Tom Campbell, Becky Morgan, Jerry Brown. In 1991, I was campaign manager for Steve Cohen’s write-in candidacy for Mayor of San Francisco. A co-worker on that campaign, Mark Katz, ended up as a speechwriter for Bill Clinton. (The ultra-minimalist campaign consisted of Steve, Mark and I wandering the parking lot at Candlestick Park one summer afternoon and asking Giants fans about their views of the issues, on camera; Steve wore a t-shirt: I RAN FOR MAYOR OF SF AND ALL I GOT WAS THIS T-SHIRT; we weren’t prescient enough to think of singing “Don’t Stop Believing.” Mark and I co-wrote Steve’s campaign slogan: Steve Cohen for Mayor: He’s not a complete joke.)

In contrast to Steve’s campaign for Mayor, I am totally serious about my potential role ongoing in Palo Alto civic affairs, as an insurgent candidate for 2012 Palo Alto City Council race, and our need to rein in developers, please note.

Today’s Palo Alto Daily News endorses four other candidates, and gives scant mention of my campaign but I find a minor victory that my key issues, about reining in developers and the abuse of Planned Community (PC) zoning, got discussed prominently; in fact, the leading candidates were often forced to respond to my statements on these issues and, at least in their statements, claim in various ways some accord. A Jason Green story today, separately, quotes my statement during a recent candidates forum that the proposal for 27 University Avenue, the Arrillaga office towers and theater, is a “complete debacle.”

Good luck to Julian Davis in SF’s D5. I spoke briefly today with his mother Margo Davis who didn’t realize that our current Mayor Yiaway Yeh is the first Gunn graduate to be Mayor of Palo Alto. I presume Yiaway and Julian overlapped at Gunn.

Go, Giants!

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in bigger picture or what is democracy?, development, media coverage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

