Photo journal from my campaign

A week later I feel enervated having received 4,316 votes. One of five voters picked me for their ballot. So now the question is: how can the New Residentialists organize to get Palo Alto back on track, and what can I do to help.

As I ponder such, I have purged my stupid cell phone of 20 photos from the campaign, of sites and scenes of and around Palo Alto, that shaped or informed my thinking or inspired me over these recent months.

Author Amy Tan spoke at the Jewish Community Center in Palo Alto recently and here models a necklace from her friend Kathi Kamen

A few months before decided I would run, I snapped this shot of Greg and Joyce Schmid, enjoying the music of Joey “Cello Joe” Chang, on Fathers’ Day.

Why did we have to cut this tree at Cogswell Plaza?

Residentialist message on Bryant at Lincoln

The candidates Tim Gray, Veronica Tincher of LOWV, Pat Burt, Liz Kniss and Greg Schmid at forum

Historic Resource commissioner Beth Bunnenberg told me the story of saving this Indian head design in the sidewalk of a former bowling alley turned office space at 735 Emerson

Indian documentary filmmaker Anand Patwardhan showed a fascinating film about music and civil rights on campus recently, splitting the difference between my cultural activism and civic engagement per se — I’d like to screen his film in June during World Music Day – Fete De La Musique

I warned Palo Alto Weekly photographer Veronica Webber that if she made me look bad I would publish a shot of her titled “Does That Blog Make my ‘But’ Look Big?”

Jonah Matranga’s free concert Election Day was sponsored by Earthwise and NOT the Weiss campaign — a highlight was when Chief Dennis Burns came by and I tried to get him to cite Jonah for selling his cds without a permit

 

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Downtown parking, influences and inspirations, media coverage, residentialists, the candidates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

